Department of Ethnic Studies Faculty

Our faculty offers expertise on local, national, and global political and economic trends, conflicts, and the intersection of these trends with the dynamics of race, class, indigeneity, ethnicity, and gender. We advise, mentor, and train a new generation of critical thinkers and compassionate community leaders.


Ibrahim G. Aoude

Professor
Office: George Hall 339
1 (808) 956-4000
aoude@hawaii.edu
Hawai‘i Political Economy, the Middle East

Ethan Caldwell

Assistant Professor
Office: George Hall 304
1 (808) 956-5354
ethanlc@hawaii.edu
African American Studies, Militarism, Diaspora

Brian Chung, Faculty, Department of Ethnic Studies, UH Mānoa

Brian S. Chung

Assistant Professor
On Leave for Professional Development
AY 2017-2018
chungb@hawaii.edu
Chinese Americans, U.S. Popular Culture

Monisha Das Gupta

Professor
Office: George Hall 306
1 (808) 956-2914
dasgupta@hawaii.edu
Migration, Social Movements, Asian Americans

Noel Kent

Professor
Office: George Hall 338
1 (808) 956-6963
noelk@hawaii.edu
Race/Ethnic Conflict, Identity, Social Justice

Roderick N. Labrador

Associate Professor, Academic Advisor
Office: George Hall 341
1 (808) 956-6915
labrador@hawaii.edu
Filipino Culture, History, Politics, Hip Hop

Laurel Mei-Singh

Assistant Professor
On Leave
Faculty duties begin in Fall 2018
meisingh@hawaii.edu
Land, Militarization, Race/Indigeneity, Oceania

Davianna Pōmaikaʻi McGregor

Professor
Office: George Hall 336
1 (808) 956-7068
davianna@hawaii.edu
Hawaiian, Land, Culture, Governance, Nature

Jonathan Y. Okamura

Professor
Office: George Hall 340
1 (808) 956-4632
okamuraj@hawaii.edu
Race/Ethnicity, Ethnic Identity, Asian Americans

Ty P. Kāwika Tengan

Associate Professor
Office: George Hall 308
1 (808) 956-5144
ttengan@hawaii.edu
Indigeneity, Masculinities, Military, Hawaiʻi