Department of Ethnic Studies Faculty

Our faculty offers expertise on local, national, and global political and economic trends, conflicts, and the intersection of these trends with the dynamics of race, class, indigeneity, ethnicity, and gender. We advise, mentor, and train a new generation of critical thinkers and compassionate community leaders.


Ethan Caldwell

Assistant Professor
Office: George Hall 304
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-5354
Email: ethanlc@hawaii.edu
African American Studies, Militarism, Diaspora

Monisha Das Gupta

Professor
Office: George Hall 306
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2914
Email: dasgupta@hawaii.edu
Migration, Social Movements, Asian Americans

Ulla Hasager, Faculty, Department of Ethnic Studies, UH Mānoa

Ulla Hasager

Associate Specialist, Dir. of Civic Engagement
Office: Dean Hall 5-7
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-4218
Email: ulla@hawaii.edu
Civic Engagement, Service Learning

Roderick N. Labrador

Associate Professor, Academic Advisor
Office: George Hall 341
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6915
Email: labrador@hawaii.edu
Filipino Culture, History, Politics, Hip Hop

Davianna Pōmaikaʻi McGregor

Professor
Office: George Hall 336
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7068
Email: davianna@hawaii.edu
Hawaiian, Land, Culture, Governance, Nature

Richard C. Rath

Associate Professor
Office: George Hall 303
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7139
Email: rrath@hawaii.edu
Sound Studies, New Media, Atlantic World

Ty P. Kāwika Tengan

Associate Professor, Department Chair
Office: George Hall 308
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-5144
Email: ttengan@hawaii.edu
Indigeneity, Masculinities, Military, Hawaiʻi

Retired/Emeritus Faculty

Ibrahim G. Aoude

Professor
Email: aoude@hawaii.edu
Hawai‘i Political Economy, the Middle East

Noel Kent

Professor Emeritus
Email: noelk@hawaii.edu
Race/Ethnic Conflict, Identity, Social Justice

Jonathan Y. Okamura

Professor Emeritus
Email: okamuraj@hawaii.edu
Race/Ethnicity, Ethnic Identity, Asian Americans

Affiliate Faculty

  • Ellen-Rae Cachola - Information Studies (militarism in the Pacific/Asia/U.S., settler colonialism, decolonization)
  • Anthony Castanha - Political Science (Indigenous Cultures)
  • Jennifer Darrah - Sociology (race and ethnicity, urban sociology)
  • Sue P. Haglund - Political Science (Latin American studies, Indigenous studies, international and domestic public policy)
  • Ruth Hsu - English (Asian American and Asian diaspora literary and cultural studies, race and ethnicity)
  • Willy Kauai - Political Science (race, law, and the political history of Hawai‘i)
  • Liana Petranek - Political Science (Political Economy)
  • Christine Quemel - Educational Administration (student affairs in higher education, Asian American and Pinay studies, sexual assault and domestic violence in Asian American and Pacific Island communities)
  • John Rosa - History (20th-century Hawai‘i, Asians and Pacific Islanders in the U.S.)