Department of Ethnic Studies Faculty

Our faculty offers expertise on local, national, and global political and economic trends, conflicts, and the intersection of these trends with the dynamics of race, class, indigeneity, ethnicity, and gender. We advise, mentor, and train a new generation of critical thinkers and compassionate community leaders.


Ibrahim G. Aoude

Professor
Office: George Hall 339
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-4000
Email: aoude@hawaii.edu
Hawai‘i Political Economy, the Middle East

Ethan Caldwell

Assistant Professor
Office: George Hall 304
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-5354
Email: ethanlc@hawaii.edu
African American Studies, Militarism, Diaspora

Brian Chung

Associate Professor
Office: George Hall 307
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-5086
Email: chungb@hawaii.edu
Urban Studies, Pop Culture, Asian Americans

Monisha Das Gupta

Professor
Office: George Hall 306
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2914
Email: dasgupta@hawaii.edu
Migration, Social Movements, Asian Americans

Ulla Hasager

Associate Specialist, Dir. of Civic Engagement
Office: Dean Hall 5-7
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-4218
Email: ulla@hawaii.edu
Civic Engagement, Service Learning

Noel Kent

Professor
Office: George Hall 338
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6963
Email: noelk@hawaii.edu
Race/Ethnic Conflict, Identity, Social Justice

Roderick N. Labrador

Associate Professor, Academic Advisor
Office: George Hall 341
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6915
Email: labrador@hawaii.edu
Filipino Culture, History, Politics, Hip Hop

Laurel Mei-Singh

Assistant Professor
Office: George Hall 305
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3484
Email: meisingh@hawaii.edu
Land, Militarization, Race/Indigeneity, Oceania

Davianna Pōmaikaʻi McGregor

Professor
Office: George Hall 336
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7068
Email: davianna@hawaii.edu
Hawaiian, Land, Culture, Governance, Nature

Jonathan Y. Okamura

Professor
Office: George Hall 340
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-4632
Email: okamuraj@hawaii.edu
Race/Ethnicity, Ethnic Identity, Asian Americans

Richard C. Rath

Associate Professor
Office: George Hall 303
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7139
Email: rrath@hawaii.edu
Sound Studies, New Media, Atlantic World

Ty P. Kāwika Tengan

Associate Professor, Department Chair
Office: George Hall 308
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-5144
Email: ttengan@hawaii.edu
Indigeneity, Masculinities, Military, Hawaiʻi